About us

The purpose of the Southeastern Association of Shared Resources (SEASR, pronounced “Caesar”) is to provide a regional forum for core directors, managers, scientists, and technical staff to meet, discuss and collaborate on the many common issues that face us. The topic areas include, but are not limited to, facility management, efficient laboratory practices, biotechnology advances and applications, federal and financial oversight, emerging issues facing cores, etc.

SEASR strives to be a professional organization that is inclusive and culturally competent. The SEASR Executive Board (EB) is diverse, with representation by women (75%), people of color/minorities (25%) and different nationalities. Of the twelve EB members, five are located in TN, four are located in GA, two are located in FL and one is located at the University Central del Caribe, Puerto Rico. Similar to the general membership of ABRF, SEASR EB members represent a mix of core managers, core directors and university administrators with core oversight roles. For the 2023 new EB member application year, SEASR plans to continue recruiting diverse EB members, with a particular interest in receiving applications from under-represented states in our catchment area (the Southeast).

As an official Chapter of the Association of Biomolecular Resource Facilities (ABRF), we cooperate with ABRF in our activities. Membership in the ABRF is encouraged; however it is NOT a requirement for attending SEASR meetings or participation in the SEASR organization. Please visit the ABRF web site to see the many benefits including numerous technology study groups, discussion forums, and an exciting annual meeting.

Click here to review the SEASR Charter.

Executive Committee

Aaron Pitre, PhD, President

Sr Scientist, Cell & Tissue Imaging Center – Light Microscopy (CTIC)
St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital

Jenny Schafer, PhD, President-Elect

Managing Director, Cell Imaging Shared Resource (CISR)
Research Associate Professor, Cell and Developmental Biology
Vanderbilt University

Deirdre Daria, PhD, Treasurer
Director, Flow Cytometry Core 
University of Tennessee Health Sciences Center

Laxminarayanan Krishnan, Membership coordinator and treasurer-elect
Research Engineer
Georgia Institute of Technology

Pritha Bagchi, PhD, Past President
Director, Emory Integrated Proteomics Core (EIPC)
Associate Scientist, Emory University Certified Lean Six Sigma Green Belt  

Lyra Griffiths, PHD, Past Treasurer
Core Director, Associate Scientist
Emory Integrated Genomics Core (EIGC) 

Tania Mesa, Sponsor Coordinator

Molecular Genomics Core
Moffitt Cancer Center 

Daniel Kraushaar, PhD, Sponsor Coordinator Elect Director, Genomic and RNA Profiling (GARP) Core Assistant Professor Baylor College of Medicine

Angel Sampson, PhD, Sponsor Coordinator Elect

Scientific Director
Interdisciplinary Center for Biotechnology Research (ICBR) Monoclonal Antibody Core
Assistant Scientist
University of Florida 

Kristen Massey, MS, Website Coordinator

Interim Director, Core Facility Program
University of Tennessee

Laura Fox-Goharioon,  Registration coordinator
Core Director
Emory Integrated Cellular Imaging Core
Emory University

Stacie Woolard, Ph.D., Secretary Assistant Director/Research Operations Manager – Flow Cytometry and Cell Sorting Shared Resource (FCCSSR) St. Jude Children’s Research Hospital